Engage™ service users can link their Instagram account to their Engage™ account, so that photographs posted to the user’s Instagram account during an Engage™ sports activity (called a “trip”) will be displayed on the Engage™ service. This article explains how information is shared between the Engage™ service and Instagram.
If a user links their Engage™ account to their Instagram account, then the user’s Engage™ account will be given access to communicate with the Instagram account to obtain links to certain photographs, as described below.
Linking an Instagram account to an Engage™ account does not give the Engage™ account access to the Instagram account login information or other data from the Instagram profile.
If a user links their Engage™ account to their Instagram account, then when the user adds a new trip to their Engage™ account the Engage™ service will automatically access the user’s Instagram account to obtain links to all photographs in the Instagram account that were taken during the Engage™ trip and then use those links to display the photographs on the Engage™ service.
Except for access to links for relevant photographs as described above, no other data is shared between the Engage™ service and Instagram. The Engage™ service does not post any data to Instagram.
Data is transmitted between the Engage™ service and Instagram using Instagram’s designated procedures, which include the SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) protocol.
A user can cancel the link between the user’s Engage™ account and the user’s Instagram account at any time using the functionality in the user’s Engage™ account settings. If the user’s Engage™ account and Instagram account are de-linked, then the Engage™ service will no longer display Instagram photographs taken when the services are not linked.
De-linking will not stop the Engage™ service from displaying Instagram photographs that were previously processed by the Engage™ service while the Engage™ and Instagram accounts were linked. A user can use the Engage™ account settings to manually remove from the Engage™ service links to those previously posted Instagram photographs.
A user can, at any time, re-establish the link between the user’s Engage™ account and the user’s Instagram account.