Support Center

Engage™ Linked Service - Facebook™

Last Updated: May 05, 2015 10:00AM PDT
Engage™ service users can link their Facebook account to their Engage™ account, either during the Engage™ account registration process or later using the Engage™ account settings. If a user’s Facebook and Engage™ accounts are linked, then the user can use a sharing functionality in the Engage™ service to post to Facebook a link to information about the user’s Engage™ sports activities (each of which is called a “trip”). Photographs posted to the user’s Facebook account during an Engage™ sports activity (called a “trip”) will be displayed on the Engage™ service. This article explains how information is shared between the Engage™ service and Facebook.
 
 
Linking
 
If a user links their Engage™ account to their Facebook account, then the user’s Engage™ account will be given access to the following data from the user’s Facebook account at the time of connection:
●     Public profile (name, profile picture and other information from the Facebook public profile)
●     Current city
●     Email
●     Birthday
●     Personal description
●     Friends list
 
After linking, the user’s Engage™ account will be given access to communicate with the Facebook account to obtain links to certain photographs, as described below.
 
Linking a Facebook account to an Engage™ account does not give the Engage™ account access to the Facebook account login information.
 
 
Data Sharing
 
If a user registers for an Engage™ account using the user’s Facebook account information, then the Facebook data outlined above will be used to create the Engage™ account.
 
If a user links their existing Engage™ account to their Facebook account, the user’s friends list from Facebook will be used by the Engage™ service to identify Facebook friends who are also users of the Engage™ service.
 
If a user links their Engage™ account to their Facebook account, then when the user adds a new trip to their Engage™ account the Engage™ service will automatically access the user’s Facebook account to obtain links to all photographs in the Facebook account that were taken during the Engage™ trip and then use those links to display the photographs on the Engage™ service.
 
Recon does not permanently download copies of any photographs from Facebook. Facebook photographs are displayed on the Engage™ service but the photographs remain hosted by Facebook and are governed by Facebook's privacy policies and terms of service. Please refer to Facebook's privacy policy and terms of service to understand Facebook's privacy practices.
 
If a user’s Engage™ account is linked to their Facebook account, then the user will be able to use a sharing functionality in the Engage™ service to post to their Facebook page a link to information about the user’s trips on the Engage™ service and other information and media (such as photos) that the user wishes to post to their Facebook page. The sharing functionality transfers the link and other information and media (selected by the user) about the trip from the Engage™ service to the user’s Facebook page. The sharing functionality does not transfer any data from Facebook to the Engage™ service, other than a confirmation that links and information were successfully posted on Facebook.
 
All links and other information and media about a trip that are posted to a user’s Facebook page are governed by Facebook’s terms of service and privacy policy. Engage™ users must understand and comply with those terms of service and privacy policy.
 
 
Privacy
 
In order for a Facebook post to provide access to information about an Engage™ trip, the trip must be set as a “public” trip. This means that the trip is publicly accessible. A user may at any time change a trip’s privacy settings to “Friends Only” (which provides access to the user’s Engage™ friends only) or “Private”. (For more information, please see the Engage™ Service - Data and Privacy article.)
 
 
Security
 
Data is transmitted between the Engage™ service and Facebook using Facebook’s designated procedures, which include the SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) protocol.
 
 
De-Linking
 
A user can cancel the link between the user’s Engage™ account and the user’s Facebook account at any time using the functionality in the user’s Engage™ account settings. If the user’s Engage™ account and Facebook account are de-linked, then the user will no longer be able to use the sharing functionality in the Engage™ service to post trip information to Facebook. Additionally, the Engage™ service will no longer display Facebook photographs taken during when the services are not linked.
 
De-linking will not affect information that was previously posted to Facebook. Those posts will have to be removed from within the Facebook service. De-linking will not stop the Engage™ service from displaying Facebook photographs that were previously processed by the Engage™ service while the Engage™ and Facebook accounts were linked. A user can use the Engage™ account settings to manually remove from the Engage™ service links to those previously posted Facebook photographs.
 
A user can, at any time, re-establish the link between the user’s Engage™ account and the user’s Facebook account.
 

Contact Support

  • Share Your Ideas!
  • Email Us
  • Call Customer Support
    1 888-944-3848

    Support Hours
    7 days a week, 6:00am to 5:30pm PST

    Holiday Closures 2017
    Jan 1 – New Year Day
    May 29 – Memorial Day
    Jul 4 – Independence Day
    Sep 4 – Labor Day
    Nov 23 – Thanksgiving
    Dec 24 – Christmas Eve
    Dec 25 – Christmas Day

    Recon Headquarters

    450 SW Marine Dr
    Vancouver, BC
    V5X 4V2

support@reconinstruments.com
http://assets2.desk.com/
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete